GRINDING: Taj Reid

1. Name/Alias:
Taj Reid

2.Where are you from/ Where do you currently live?:
I’m kind of a nomad. My heritage is in the islands. My Mom and Dad are from Barbados. But we’ve lived all over – from Bermuda to Chicago to Connecticut to DC to Philadelphia. We’ve covered a lot of ground. If I had to call one place home it would be Philadelphia. I’ve spent a lot time here and I’ve grown really attached to the people, culture and pace of life. I like that I can be in DC or New York in no time, but still maintain a healthy distance from the frenetic pace of both those cities.

3. Where did/do you go to school and your major?:
I went to American University for Public Policy and to Howard for Law School. I really enjoyed those years. DC was an amazing place to study. You could witness first-hand a lot of the stuff we were learning in school. It was great. Plus the cultural aspects were mind blowing. The music, food and diversity of people kept the city refreshingly interesting.

4. What is your Grind?:
I’m a dad and husband, but also the owner of wejetset – a modern travel store. I try my best to stay laser focused on my family and wejetset. Basically I keep things really simple and devote all of my energy to them.

5. How did you get into what your doing now?:
It’s tough to say because it’s something I’ve always wanted to do, but didn’t know it. wejetset is a combination of all my ideas, experiences and aspirations. I’ve always been curious about process and how ideas are born into reality – whether it’s music, photography or design in general – it adds context. It helps you appreciate the end result even more. So my curiosity about process drove me to go law school, work for a think tank, follow art & design, and travel. At the end of the day, I wanted to take all the things I learned from those experiences and develop something that would encourage other people to pursue process. And, when I think about this, travel is the greatest storyteller. It has the ability to show the end result — a great city, an amazing record store, a beautiful park or an elaborate museum — while providing the context for the ideas that made those things happen or exist.

6. When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?:
That’s funny because when I was really young all my aspirations were centered around soccer, transformers, the obscure cartoon m.a.s.k. and fast jets. I was determined to be a jet pilot and a spy. Neither of those careers panned out, but I have no regrets – I can’t see myself doing either of those things now – hahaha.


7. What are some contributing factors that shaped the life you live now?:

My parents, meeting my wife and my friends. They’ve all been so supportive and helped me make the leap from the more predictable corporate path to being an entrepreneur.

8. Any specific people that mentored or helped guide you to your current path?:
Definitely my Mom and Dad.

9. What motivates you?:
My daughter. She approaches every day with so much energy and it’s contagious. Like – why not have fun today?

10. Your favorite author and why?:
I’m a big fan of Paulo Coelho. I read The Alchemist and after that I ran through his other books. I really like the pacing of his stories. Plus they never seem to be longer then they have to be – just the right length. Not to mention the underlying themes are usually pretty inspiring.

11. What are 3 goals you want to achieve within the next year?:

1) Run a 5k under 27 minutes,
2) Beat Indiana Jones (Lego Edition) for the Xbox 360 with my daughter,
3) Expand wejetset’s video, print and retail offerings.

12. One person that continuously inspires you and why?:
My wife. She’s the hardest worker I know.

13. 3 Indie brands you LOVE to rock?:
1) Maharishi,
2) Staple,
3) Anything from the Arkitip / Incase Collaboration Series

14. What annoys you the most?:
The fact that there’s only 24 hours in each day.

15. Your best quality?:
I’m still working on that one.

www.wejetset.com

One Response to “GRINDING: Taj Reid”

  1. GIVEAWAY: Nuvany Ni’ce x Wejetset! « Nuvany Nice Says:

    […] Taj in our Grinding series not too long ago, if you haven’t take a moment to check it out here. Wejetset is a full service lifestyle brand dedicated to serving the modern traveler with store, […]


Leave a Reply

