GRINDING: Oroma

1. Name/Alias:
Oroma

2.Where are you from/ Where do you currently live?:
Rivers State, Nigeria/ NYC

3. Where did/do you go to school and your major?:
I’m still a student. I took a break to work on personal projects that just couldn’t wait but I’m going back this September for media art. I did design at the Art Institute of New York City, women’s contemporary to be exact. But I clearly prefer to be in publishing instead of design.

4. What is your Grind?:
I’ve been grinding since the get. I’ve made and sold t-shirts & contemporary clothes for private clients, worked 9-5s for corporate & independent fashion labels, owned an audio-visual company called Riot Television. Alongside all this, I picked up an interest in film and digital photography, and I have been experimenting and photographing ever since. I’m very comfortable in my current grind because I am able to apply 6 years of skills and experience in the fashion/art industry to Pop’Africana. So I guess you can call me a visual director and businesswoman.

5. How did you get into what your doing now?:
By chance…….. NOT…Basically, I came to a point where I wasn’t afraid of expressing myself. I wanted to create imagery and bring my ideas as a stylist & designer, and all-around creative person, into one through photography. Fashion publishing was the only way I could make this happen.

6. When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?:
I wanted to be famous. I’ve always wanted to be in journalism. But what has really helped me stick to this plan is stubbornness. Considering the fact that I am Nigeria, if you know what I mean, I don’t know if I would be doing Pop’Africana if I wasn’t so stubborn.

7. What are some contributing factors that shaped the life you live now?:
The structureless structure of my family is one contributing factor. The rest is just life.

8. Any specific people that mentored or helped guide you to your current path?:
Where am I now is the epitome of trial and error. I always knew I wanted to do what I’m doing now, but not many people can sincerely guide one toward a specific path. But I would say this, though, I’ve been inspired by a lot of peoples’ discouragement and doubt. One thing you must know about me is I strongly believe in myself.

9. What motivates you?:
Happiness, peace of mind and independence.

10. Your favorite author and why?:
Can’t choose one, sorry. Ben Okri because his mind is sublime. Chinua Achebe because of his commitment to telling the story of his people.

11. What are 3 goals you want to achieve within the next year?:

To get Pop’Africana printed,
To fully immerse myself in the art of film and print making,
To get paid…and my American passport (I’ve been so lazy about getting one).

12. One person that continuously inspires you and why?:
My boyfriend because he’s so brilliant and we share similar ideas and plans for the future.

13. 3 Indie brands you LOVE to rock?:
PVR,
LAZYBOY,
Lilith [ don’t think she’s indie but I love how she doesn’t advertise]

14. What annoys you the most?:
Mediocrity.

15. Your best quality?:
You tell me.

www.oromatherapy.blogspot.com

2 Responses to “GRINDING: Oroma”

  1. Latoya Says:

    Why people still use to read news papers when in this technological world all is presented on web?

  2. diy Says:

    This is the perfect website foor anyone who wants to find out about
    this topic. You realize a whole lot its almost tough to
    arguue with you (not that I personally would want to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a new spin on a topic which has beeen discussed for decades.
    Excellent stuff, just excellent!


Leave a Reply

