GRINDING: Jessica Gueco

1. Name/Alias:
Jessica Gueco / Yoshi

2.Where are you from/ Where do you currently live?:
I am a San Francisco native and a Brooklyn implant.

3. Where did/do you go to school and your major?:
I went to several schools during my college years actually. My first year I majored in Political Science at San Jose State University, then I transferred to the University of San Francisco as a pre-med Biology major. I realized I couldn’t cut it in organic chemistry and decided to go back to Politics and studied abroad at the Pazmany Catholic University in Budapest, Hungary. I returned to graduate at USF with a BA in Politics. (all the while I took several classes at community colleges during winter/summer breaks so I could graduate on time, I highly recommend this!)

4. What is your Grind?:
Hmmm… I’m a bonafide hustler – LOL, jk. Well I started “the grind” when I first joined HomeRoom Clothing back in 2005 or 2006? I handled a lot of the marketing and east coast sales (after I moved). I then left to become the buyer of Fatlace in SF and that’s when I started my blogging “career,” if you will – THANK YOU MARK! All the while I was working full-time as a Producer/Project Manager at Heavy.com. When a sales opportunity arose, I left Heavy to become a full-time sales rep for In4mation. I continued buying for Fatlace and blogging for several sites. I decided that I had done my time in the “industry” and went back to the web/digital world to become a Producer/PM for Rokkan.com. I am still an avid blogger for Fatlace, itsDesignRelated, and ClotheJL (although I’ve been slackin a bit!) and I continue to do the buying for Fatlace (a role I don’t think I could ever leave behind). And that’s that!

5. How did you get into what you’re doing now?:
I supposed it all spawned from my sneaker addiction. I’ve been into fresh kicks for a while and I started learning more about the culture around individuals like myself (although I NEVER stood in line for hours lol). I had a ton of friends involved in this kind of lifestyle as well, friends that would kind of slingshot my way to where I am today; from Gabriella at Mama (I interned with her in the beginning), to Jeff Ng/Staple (I worked at ReedSpace when I first moved to NY), to Lenny/Futura and Josh/Stash (my first friends upon arriving in Brooklyn whom I met in SF a year prior to the move), to all they guys at DQM (lord KNOWS how many countless hours I spent hanging around lol). OH wait! I totally forgot to mention my TRUE first Brooklyn friends – they guys over at Brooklyn Circus – Ouigi and the rest of the crew, they accepted me in their family from the get, and I will never forget their hospitality =) Now I’m just starting to sound like I’m “name-dropping” lol – but seriously without these people and all of my other friends that kept me grounded and motivated to try my best to go far in whatever I do, especially my friends Nico (Staple), Tello, Chase (Converse), Igei (my bf), Courtney (iDR), Vince (VSS), I really don’t think I would have come this far. Okay, that’s a mouthful

6. When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?:
When I was a kid I wanted to be an FBI agent or to work for the UN to represent those countries who could not fend for themselves. I studied French and Arabic and even had the chance to visit the FBI Academy and NSA facilities!

7. What are some contributing factors that shaped the life you live now?:
Friends (as you could read above) and the fact that I never really took “no” for an answer. I also like to think of myself as that chick that gets shit done. I honestly can say that my stubbornness and my impatience has catapulted my path for me, when someone tells me I can’t, I’ll do my damnedest to prove them wrong… in a more than timely manner =)

8. Any specific people that mentored or helped guide you to your current path?:
Again, you can see above =)

9. What motivates you?:
Knowing that “I CAN.”

10. Your favorite author and why?:
HAHAHA, don’t laugh, but currently its Stephanie Meyers, author of the Twilight series. I’m absolutely obsessed and have read all the books and watched the movie. Call me a hopeless romantic for Vamps HAHAHAHHA – I know, i’m a NERD.

11. What are 3 goals you want to achieve within the next year?:

3 goals for next year, wow, that’s less than a month away! I would like to save enough money to visit Japan, I would like to be financially stable in this wack economy, and I lastly, hmmmmm damn. I guess I really want to continue working hard?

12. One person that continuously inspires you and why?:
I would say that person for me would be… well its a tie between four of my good friends: 1) Jessica Tong because she can party all night long but still make it to work on time and continue to kick ass at what she does (industrial designer) and at the same time, maintaining her sanity in a world full of chaos and surprise. 2) Mike Tello because he’s a dope motion graphics designer and he is my “voice of reason.” 3) Kerin Rose because she’s been through a hell of a lot and yet she continues to inspire me and other people with her smile and survival, not to mention her creativity… and finally the 4th goes out to Mark of Fatlace/Nike. I can’t say enough for this guy, he truly is one of the main reasons why I made it this far in all of my careers, I’d say he’s my mentor because he’s been there and done that and back again, always the first person I go to if I have a question or am in need of guidance…

13. 3 Indie brands you LOVE to rock?:
Hellz-Bellz,Insight, Fatlace

14. What annoys you the most?:
People who LIE.

15. Your best quality?: My willingness to speak my mind at all times.

www.fatlace.com/yoshi

One Response to “GRINDING: Jessica Gueco”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Awesome


Leave a Reply

