GRINDING: Khia Jackson

1. Name/Alias:
Khia Jackson/ Miss Jay, or Khia_Rocks

2.Where are you from/ Where do you currently live?:
Up and Down the East Coast and A few Caribbean Islands/ I live in Qns. A loooong Ride from the late night summer parties.

3. Where did/do you go to school and your major?:
Undergrad @ Hampton University ( English/ Graphic Design) & Grad @ Portfolio Center ( Design )

4. What is your Grind?:
All of my hustles have something to do with design–> I design Magazine advertorials, CD packaging, Graphics for tennis shoes, tees, jeans, logos, book covers, posters, web banners whatever. I also blog for Around the Way Girls and The World Is Ours in conjunction with Liberator Magazine. I refuse to go broke because if worse comes to worse I can still do a Full Set and a Pedi-Don’t Trip!

5. How did you get into what your doing now?:
I used to do print design and I was working In VA for peanuts. I did a c.d. cover for the Fabulous Fuzz Band and PEL former Creative Director of RP55 saw my work ( they do Schmack, Azzuré and Indigo Red) they made me an offer i couldn’t refuse.- Best thing that ever happened to me. Later I moved to NY to be the Head Graphic Designer for the House of Déreon. The rest is right now.

6. When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?:
I’ve always wanted to be some kind of an artist: Make up Artist, Designer, Painter, Interior Decorator, Illustrator….

7. What are some contributing factors that shaped the life you live now?:
Living in so many different places, and having family friends of such different cultures. It taught me to have an open mind and a healthy level of acceptance of others

8. Any specific people that mentored or helped guide you to your current path?:
Mom and Dad, both for being strong individuals with a lot of class who live by their own rules. And Mom once again for giving teaching me the Way of The Grind.( Jamaicans are Sensei’s when it comes to hard work !)

9. What motivates you?:
A need to contribute and add something positive to the world around me, the refusal to go broke

10. Your favorite author and why?:
I like the guy who wrote Mystic River–> Dennis Lehane, and Christopher Buckley he wrote ” Thank You For Smoking”. They’re smart, clever authors

11. What are 3 goals you want to achieve within the next year?:

Buy a house, Find a more mainstream outlet for my written work, Design a Product ( not saying what yet) and have it produced.

12. One person that continuously inspires you and why?:
Barack Obama. I hate to admit it, but I didn’t think it was possible. It is inspiring to me that he is so proving me wrong and that he knew he would.

13. 3 Indie brands you LOVE to rock?:
Not many brands fit my frame ( I stand 6 feet tall), but I’ll tell who I WOULD love to rock. Mike and Chris, Taverniti, and Custo ( wait…is that indie?).

14. What annoys you the most?:
Insincerity, Cruelty and people who try TOO HARD. ugh!

15.Your best quality?:I’m trying to be good to everyone around me. Friends, family, strangers…. A little love can go a long way sometimes.

www.theworld-isours.blogspot.com

www.aroundthewaygirls.net

Leave a Reply

