Feature: Fresh n Fierce

www.myspace.com/flyladydi

NN: Is FLY LADY DI your real name? If not how did you acquire the name?

FLD: No, of course it’s not my real name. My real name is Diana Reyes,
which is what I also sometimes go by. I thought up the name when I
was 13 and wanting to become a ‘Fly Girl’. As a child, everyone
always called me ‘Lady Di’ because Princess Diana was pregnant when I
was born. So, I thought to just put the three together and be FLY
LADY DI.

NN: Where are you originally from and how did you get to New York?

FLD: I’m originally from the suburbs of Toronto. A place called Markham,
Ontario in Canada. I moved to New York in May 2004 to pursue my
dancing dreams, and just made it happen. It was a hard struggle, but
everyone struggles at first when they get here. I’m just glad that I
can live to tell about it, and that I am growing in success everyday
that I’m here. I’ve learned a lot by being out here.

NN: As a dancer first and now an acclaimed artist, did you find it
difficult to make the transition?

FLD: Not at all. I still feel like I’m both at the same time, even though
I’m not actively pursuing dance. I think it would be a lot harder if
I was an artist first and then a dancer. Dancing is a tough field.

NN: When I look at your art its like I can see the dance in the
painting,can you elaborate on that?

FLD: Absolutely. I always feel as though my fingers are dancing to the
beat of God’s drum when I paint. God is really in control of my
movements. The arts are all one in the same. There are several
things I attribute with dance that I attribute with painting. Things
like spatiality, rhythm, flow, etc.

NN: You’ve definitely overcome massive obstacles to get to where your
at today! Do you feel that your truly living the “American Dream”?

FLD: Yes, most definitely. I came here with very little, and now I feel
like I can attain anything I want. I feel like I’ve been able to do a
lot in a short amount of time.

NN: When can we expect the original mixtape tees, I tell you I really
missed out but I’ve never forgotten :)!!!

FLD: Oh haha! I expect to launch them by early April so look out for them!

One Response to “Feature: Fresh n Fierce”

  1. Jamie Walker (Hickman) Says:

    Fierce clothing and HOT shoes! Hi Ebony! šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

