Feature: FRESH N FIERCE

www.myspace.com/atouchofsoadwa

1.Where are you located and how long have you been designing?
I am located in Brooklyn, New York (by way of Cleveland, Ohio by way of Ghana, West Africa…but I was born in the States…). I have been designing for all of 9 months!!…yeah I know…a sista is verrrry new to the game!

2.How did you come up with the name for your line/label?
My mother and sister actually started making pillows about 2 years ago and I finally decided to try it myself -but with a more modern twist. I used my last name for the label just in case my mom and sisters decided they wanted to design pillows! Then we can make it a family business….I’m trying to build a family enterprise!!

3.What inspires your designs?
My inspiration is to just mix patterns and colors that says something more than “I am a pillow that sits on a bed or on a couch”. African fabric is so unique and I think each pattern tells a different story. I want my pillows to tell a story and to be a conversational piece.
My inspiration is the conversation….

4.What are one of your favorite Indie Designers/Brands?
Raggamuffin Designs!!! Check them out…. http://www.raggamuffindesigns.etsy.com I really just love anything with African fabric!

5.What’s next for your designs?
I will continue to make custom orders and want to start making comforters, curtains and other home decor…beware I’m on a mission!!! I am also looking for specialty stores/boutiques to sell my work.

Leave a Reply

