Feature: FRESH N FIERCE

www. 57thirtythree.etsy.com

1.Where are you located and how long have you been designing?
I am in East Oakland California, in the shadow of the Oakland Coliseum. I’ve been designing apparel about 5 months

2.How did you come up with the name for your line/label?
It’s my street address, I very much like where I live

3.What inspires your designs?
I get inspired by the strangest things, some artists, but more often stories. I like people who’ve done things that others said were not possible. That’s why I use images of people like Anna May Wong and Josephine Baker. They were way ahead of their time, and they lived their lives as they wanted, not as they were suppose to. I live in an old industrial neighborhood in East Oakland; I find that inspiring. The decay and abandonment are beautiful in a way. These things that remain from a time that is long gone. They tell the stories of that time, they stand as monuments to what was, when this country was very different. There is something inspiring about the fact that these things (buildings, railroad tracks, machinery) still remain despite there neglect. They endure.

4.What are one of your favorite Indie Designers/Brands?
“Kilo goods” , ” Acrylick” and “Poets and Thieves”

5.What’s next for your designs?
I am working with ideas around sustainability. I’d like to switch to bamboo t-shirts as soon as It’s competitive enough. I am also trying to work out a system for using more reclaimed fabrics and recycling them. My volume is growing quickly so some of what I do myself may need to be outsourced. I am searching for businesses in Oakland for outsourcing. I WILL NOT ever manufacture overseas. I want to create business in my community. I also want to run a business that I can be proud of.

One Response to “Feature: FRESH N FIERCE”

  1. CHIC NOIR Says:

    These shirts are fierce. I’ve ordered goods from two of the sites that you have featured so far.


Leave a Reply

