Feature: FRESH N FIERCE

www. kjoo.etsy.com

1.Where are you located and how long have you been designing?
I am Portuguese 27 years old.I live in Palmela witch is a very small village situated in the mountains with a beautiful castle at the top

2.How did you come up with the name for your line/label?
kjoo doesn´t have any meaning as far as I know, I was actually working on some lettering for some graphic design work and I accidentally typed kjo when testing some font types. I found the combination of letters very interesting and I researched the meaning.I found the combination very catchy, so I added just one more -o- and that´s it. No Japanese philosophical meaning like some friends used to ask me…

3.What inspires your designs?
I inspire myself in everything, can be some African pattern (that I love), or a simple book…I don’t think there’s one particular thing that inspires me, everything can be an inspiration.

4.What are one of your favorite Indie Designers/Brands?
Ok I have lots of favorite independent designers (we all do). I am going to give you one Portuguese named Liliana Maia you can see her blog here: http://www.limalha.blogspot.com/.

5.What’s next for your designs?
This question is very difficult I have lots of things I need to try out just need time and coordination… I love illustration and I have a few ideas to try out. I would also like to try some bigger items in the same “style” I am working on jewelry maybe some housewares…Not sure what will come out first.

Leave a Reply

